Sharp Pencils

Reading a recent ‘freshly pressed’ post about notebooks I finally recognised my obsession is not with notebooks in particular, but stationery in general. Whenever I see a colleague with a fancy binder or posh pen I suffer serious stationery envy, to the degree where I need to go out and get some myself. It then often remains unused as I can never bring myself to despoil it and I never have anything important enough to use such lovely stationery for.

Pencils however are a different matter entirely. I love writing with a really sharp pencil, especially a soft dark one. I love sharpening them too. Do you remember the joy of being pencil monitor when you were little and you got to sharpen all the teachers pencils. Heaven.

On a recent holiday to Florence (RECOMMENDED) I saw swarovski tipped pencils which I loved and had to buy. The problem was I had to buy them for everyone, as I KNEW everyone would love them. I ended up keeping them for myself, except for the ones I bought my children. I then spent the next few days praying they wouldn’t take them with them when they went back to University. Selfish huh? Thank God, they left them behind – I suspect they knew and decided it was better to leave the pencils with the Weirdo. But writing just feels so nice with a sharp, sharp pencil. I know I must soon face the day when they leave home properly and take their pencils with them.

I’ve photographed the pencils. You want them too now don’t you.

This entry was posted in Homelife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sharp Pencils

  1. Bryony Mountfort says:

    I don’t remember these pencils! But rest assured I will take them with me in July 🙂

  2. …. just wondering … have you still got them all, after all this time? (laughing to self here because I recognised myself in the description. I thought it was just me who was a weirdo!)

    • e1aine says:

      Yup, well most of them anyway. Every now and then one of the ones I love ‘lend’ me a pencil they’ve nicked off me. They know it’s not theirs too.

      Bryony has inherited this stationery obsession too.

    • e1aine says:

      Just looked back at my photo. I only had six. 6!

      They must have bred because I have a huge pot of them now – and matching pens.

      • Oh Lord! They’re BREEDING!!! Oooo.. lots of crystal babies running around making doodles on paper. (ok.. I’m laughing at my own jokes now. My one brain cell has obviously developed a crack. Meds time. (or is it perhaps gin and tonic time, I wonder.) 😀

Leave a Reply

