Calling all WordPress bloggers. Jewellery Making DILEMA!

I need your help.

Yes, you!

I’ve made this pendant and I really like it, but I have reached a creative impasse regarding how to hang it. Now I don’t care if you don’t have a creative bone in your body (or don’t really care), I’d still like your opinion.

Here it is…

Image

It’s not that I don’t have any ideas. I’ve got loads, I just don’t know what to do. I could:

  • Use some black velvet tubing spaced with the oval black drops to make a short necklace
  • Make a black velvet choker with this as the accent
  • Pick out the green leaf with a string of tiny green beads
  • Hang it on a plain silver chain
  • Make a white and black chunky beaded necklace
  • Make a brown, silver and green intertwined necklace (like vines) and hang it from this
  • Not bother and turn it into a brooch.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions. What do you think (please)…

 

 

This entry was posted in Jewellery, art and crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Calling all WordPress bloggers. Jewellery Making DILEMA!

  1. catbird365 says:

    I like the first idea very much. It just says “black velvet” to me. very pretty whatever you decide.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hi Elaine, I’m going with choker or silver chain. I like the green beads idea, but think it looks great as a tiny one off piece of colour πŸ™‚

    • e1aine says:

      Thanks, I am also following you.
      When I saw your post I had a quick look around and knew that this was the kind of blog I like. Keep on posting and thank you for your comment. My feeling was black velvet too. It might look a bit ‘vintage’ I think. (I hope).
      You never know until you try do you? That’s what I like about jewellery making, I take apart as much as I make!

  3. megtraveling says:

    I would use a simple silver chain so it doesn’t detract from the beautiful pendant itself. (But I like the other suggestions too)!

  4. Definitely the black velvet choker! Your pendant has a “cameo” flair to it, and keeping the black as the predominant color will make that sweet little peep of green stand out. Good luck and can’t wait to see what you decide!

  5. Chunky black and white’s my vote. I think the chunky necklace would compliment the pendant’s flair. LOVE the pendant, by the way:)

  6. I have to agree, black velvet! It would have a very Victorian gothic appeal as a choker I think…

  7. mhhadfield says:

    Make a brown, silver and green intertwined necklace (like vines) and hang it from this

    with little green beads on the green string πŸ™‚

  8. If my cat saw that sitting on the bureau dresser, I’m afraid the decision would be made for you — cat toy. It’s too pretty and sparkly to be resisted.

    • e1aine says:

      Poor Juliet, Just seen her ‘poor paw’!

      • Thank you, she’s better now and it’s back to normal size; however…today she heard a bee out in the garden, then flattened to the ground and scuttled back inside so I think we know who the guilty party was. (Be sure to post what you decide to do with the pendant! Bear votes for a necklace with a more delicate silver stranding, like the background of the pendant. He’s much better with these things than I am.)

  9. catbird365 says:

    Hi. C’mon over and pick up your Versatile Blogger Award πŸ™‚
    http://catbird365.wordpress.com/2012/03/21/thanks/

    • e1aine says:

      Hi. Thanks for the reminder.

      I’m a bit technically challenged, so I’m waiting for my daughter (back Friday) to show me how to do the links etc.

  10. alisaacarter says:

    I like the vine idea, and I like the black and white beads but not chunky. I think it would detract from the spidery effect of the pendant. Beautiful!

    • e1aine says:

      Thank you for your comment. ‘Spidery’ – I hadn’t thought of that, cheers.

      I think I’m going to have to try out several versions before I get a final one.

  11. Firstly it’s absolutely beautiful! I like the idea of a thick velvet choker myself πŸ™‚

  12. Jewelie Dee says:

    It screams black velvet to me, too, but the genius of this design is it is adaptable to chain or to a beaded necklace with tiny green beads, as long as the bail is big enough. Your personal style is all over this piece, and that’s what makes it lovely to me!

    • e1aine says:

      Oh, thank you.

      I’ve found this one difficult, normally it is totally obvious to me what I should do, rightly or wrongly.

      Black velvet is definitely the winning opinion.

Leave a Reply

