Barton Springs, Austin

Texas was not a place I’d really thought of visiting, but circumstances took me there and I couldn’t wait to go again. Especially Austin which is brilliant. On my first trip we visited Barton Springs to find it all closed up for the winter. It was a shame, it was quite warm – no one used to English weather would call that winter! Anyway on my second visit it was open and it was so hot! 

I’m not the adventurous type and I’m not just saying that. I don’t swim in rivers generally (germs, wildlife, usual reasons) but, did I mention, it was so hot!

Barton Springs is beautiful. the river has been ‘tamed’ into a natural swimming pool, with hunky guards and everything. It is a huge area of grass, trees, river and wildlife and I enjoyed a beautiful afternoon there and I really did swim in the river, though I was the only one in our group who did. The others are complete sun worshippers, whereas I wilt a bit in the heat.

As you can see the squirrels are cute too

I wish I could get hold of the pictures I took of the wildlife. If you ever get the chance I recommend a visit.

This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Barton Springs, Austin

  1. Ah, Bear lived in Texas for four years and one of my best friends is the granddaughter of a Texas governor (practically royalty by American standards!) so I’m glad you enjoyed your holiday there and got to experience the waters this time. I’m not sure we’ll be swimming in the Ouse anytime soon, but Bear keeps threatening to go for an exploratory swim.

    • e1aine says:

      Speaking as one who has done this on a number of occasions, (though many years ago,) please discourage Bear. I’d love to claim that the Ouse is as clean as Texas – it aint!

      Where is your friend from? I’ve covered a fair bit of Texas now (well a tiny bit, it is BIG). A Texas governor is quite a thing!

      I liked Houston (especially NASA) and San Antonio a lot.

  2. mhhadfield says:

    Jealous! please take me next time! 😀

  3. Sartenada says:

    How beautiful I love that “natural swimming pool”.

Leave a Reply

