Happy World Book Night!

I did it!

Armed with twenty copies of Pride and Prejudice, I went to the local hospital and stood by the parking machine at visiting time. As I was short of time my husband came with me to help. He never even got out of the car as I was handing out free copies of Jane Austen’s masterpiece hand over fist. He said I was back in the car ready to go home in less than ten minutes. What an easy volunteering role!

(If you don’t know what I’m talking about, please see previous post in library category, ‘It is more blessed to give than to recieve’. World Book Night is all about giving away lovely new books supplied by certain publishers for the event. I volunteered to be a giver again this year.)

It was, once again, a wonderful experience and I’d encourage anyone interested to get involved.

Once again, Happy World Book Night!

This entry was posted in Library, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy World Book Night!

  1. megtraveling says:

    This is such a wonderful idea! And people still like to read good books… 🙂

  2. Well done! World Book Night passed me by, and there I was thinking about getting involved this year, doh!

  3. I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award. Check it out… http://forhisgloryandpraise.wordpress.com/

  4. am so glad you had such a positive experience. I got involved last year and it was an administrative nightmare. Wasn’t successful – then was. then couldn’t have the book requested. Then asked to collect books for a library in Scotland (really). Books delivered but never arrived. So disappointing. Well done you X

    • e1aine says:

      That’s awful. I’m really sorry it was such a nightmare.

      I must admit we did have one box arrive at the library with the wrong name on it and a whole pile that arrived so early most librarians hadn’t been warned they were coming (luckily I knew anyway as a giver).

      Hey, ho. Perhaps they will get their act together next year. All I can say is that if you do manage to get a batch of books – and I assume you are not in Scotland – people are really pleased to be offered them on the night.

      I’ll be warned for next year though! Thanks.

  5. catbird365 says:

    Cool! I set my books free by playing Bookcrossing (bookcrossing.com) all year long. Sounds like you would enjoy it, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

