My vocabulary is as good as, like, whatever.

Why has the word ‘like’ become inserted into sentences where no word is needed. On a recent holiday to Devon (yes I’m a bit predictable, we go there a lot) I queued with some lovely young girls, quite posh, who had a conversation about why one couldn’t get a job. It went something like this…

‘I like just can’t get a job, right. I like can’t like understand it like.’

‘That is like so unfair (like). Have you like applied for many?’

‘Oh I’ve like applied for so many like. I like get to the interview stage like, but there’s always like so many others going for the same job like, so I never get a chance. It’s like driving me mad.’

I’m not exaggerating, honestly – and it must have gone on for five solid minutes at the very minimum. I know it is the fashionable way to talk (and I’m getting on a bit) but the poor girl had no idea how dumb she sounded.

I wrangled with my conscience. I wanted to tell her. I felt sorry for her. I didn’t want to sound like a miserable old bag. I held my tongue. Probably a good thing. Though she does want a job…

It was a really slow queue and after five minutes of this I wanted to strangle both of them.

When ‘our two’ come home from Uni they have ‘like’ bad! It bothers me, but Hubby goes insane with irriation. And now we are all saying it. Even my husband caught himself the other day. This is serious.

We have introduced the ‘like pot’ in our house. Other homes have swear pots, we have a like pot. 50p per like.

I’ve put a bit in as an advance. This is a pandemic that has swept the English speaking world (is that just an epidemic? – I may be going overboard here), where ever you go, you can’t get away from it.

Just to clarify, I don’t like, like, ‘like’. (Like). But if you say this all the time I’ll still like talking to you.

(But I do like it when people like my posts).

This entry was posted in Homelife, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to My vocabulary is as good as, like, whatever.

  1. terry1954 says:

    now that you have brought this up, i am wondering if i do this also

    • e1aine says:

      I think we all do. As long as we all say nice things to each other I suppose it doesn’t really matter. But the pots a fast little earner 🙂

  2. This is definitely a pandemic! Was it Valley Girl in the ’80s that should “like” take the blame? 🙂

    • e1aine says:

      I don’t know Valley Girl (but I’m prepared to blame her). I just don’t know how it started.

      Thanks for commenting. I always like to catch up with you.

  3. Ms. Fastspeed says:

    I was listening to my sister’s boyfriend talking about his dissertation, and decided to have a count, just for one minute. He said the word like FOURTEEN times! I think a lot of people do it but that’s got to be overkill!

  4. It was the Valley Girl explosion that started in California in the 80’s. I lived there at the time, and it drove me crazy. I wanted to teach these girls who seemed to “like” themselves to death proper grammar. I would often though make the point to them by walking up to them and imitate the way they were talking. Nothing stops a young person from using slang quicker than when someone 10 to 20 years older using it too…lol.

    • e1aine says:

      Brilliant.

      I think the kids of the 80’s are now the adults teaching their children to ‘like’ every other word.

      • LOL! Or they are wondering why their children lean towards using slang rather than proper English. I think it is a lost art form that needs to be taught again. I am thankful that my daughter prefers to use proper English rather than slang. Jk finds slang annoying, and constantly corrects her sisters and niece when she hears them using slang. My other daughters know when they come home or talk to me that I don’t want to hear the slang and they drop it for that time. I at least see this as showing some respect…either that or they don’t want to be corrected when they talk to me…lol.

      • e1aine says:

        I’m glad some children see how daft slang sounds. I wish my kids had JK’s sense.

      • Well, Jk hears her sisters use it and she doesn’t like hearing it or curse words. She gave her heart to Jesus at age 5, and tries to live by his example, so that prompts her feelings towards what is proper. Besides when she was a baby, I didn’t let people talk baby talk to her. We challenged her to say big words, like Venezuela and such. She loved it so much that she would say…”Mommy give me another big word.” She’s dyslexic so she struggles more with writing than with speaking. That is the purpose for her blogging, to improve her writing.

      • e1aine says:

        Well, her writing is good. She is a little star.

  5. How could I not “like” this post!?! 🙂

  6. tindink says:

    Couldn’t agree more with you ….it’s really irritating to hear the overuse of the word ‘like’ in conversation where it’s neither use nor ornament!

    🙂

  7. tindink says:

    Reblogged this on tindink and commented:
    Couldn’t agree more with you ….it’s really irritating to hear the overuse of the word ‘like’ in conversation where it’s neither use nor ornament………..you know what I mean?

    OMG, don’t get me started on ‘you know what I mean’…..that’s TOTALLY irritating like!

    • e1aine says:

      OMG! That’s another one. It’s really especially irritating when said. Don’t they know IT’S NO SHORTER! Sorry for shouting, got a bit worked up there. Thanks for reblogging, I’m flattered.

      • tindink says:

        OH EM GEE………it get’s my goat too!

        Your post made me laugh and think of a few of the things that also annoy me (or things that ‘do my head in’) Annoyingly, some of those sayings are things I say myself too! 🙂

  8. Sartenada says:

    I like Your post. 🙂

  9. tovah11 says:

    My problem is people that constantly use the words ‘you know” into every other sentence. Drives me crazy.

  10. 2b14u says:

    When you start imitating them it becomes a habit…been there and done that before.

  11. paperandlace says:

    So true, like, I even find myself doing it now and again like when Im either excited or like talking to young people. Its so like….embarrassing! haha You have inspired me to, like, start a like jar haha

  12. catbird365 says:

    Do I owe 50P for hitting the “like” button? This is a great idea!

    • e1aine says:

      No, I wouldn’t want to put you off. mhhadfield is going to make me a fortune when she gets home next week anyway, spoke to her on the phone and she’s got ‘like’ bad again.

Leave a Reply

