Getting to know you…

I’ve been blogging for a while now and people keep asking why, what’s the point?

I suppose it is Facebook for people with common interests. It’s not even something you can put your finger on sometimes, you just like someone else’s blog and follow it. Personally I can’t be bothered with Facebook, I know I should (everyone keeps telling me so and a billion or so people can’t be wrong – can they?) but if I want to know what my next door neighbour is up to, I ask them.

All the same it is a bit disconcerting when people ask me how my daughter is getting on. I say I don’t know, we haven’t spoken for a few days. They proceed to tell me she had a great night out/face planted in the sand whilst surfing/has a cold etc etc. Then they look at me like I’m a really bad Mum, perhaps I am, but I’m darn sure she’d call if she needed me. And why did they ask anyway if they have a blow by blow account of her life?

Anyway, back to WordPress. I suppose I get attached to the people I follow. Some of you make me laugh, some of you are really clever, artistic or interesting. I want to know if Terry had a bad day, I certainly want to know if she had a good one. I’ve even got to know someone and enjoy nights out. Ok, that was a long shot, you don’t normally twig that someone you are ‘talking’ to is local. I like to see the jewellery of the designers I’ve found and catch up with what they are up to. They have the same interests as me often. But I am most excited to see the two new babies that are due next week. What a coincidence, only two people I’ve followed have ever got pregnant and I find that I really care that their babies are delivered safe and sound and can feel that anticipation, even though I don’t know their full names or addresses or husbands or any of the stuff that normally mean you ‘know’ someone.

I guess that is the point. You don’t have to know someone to care and new babies are even better than new shoes!

 Photo by babycare centres.

This entry was posted in Homelife, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Getting to know you…

  1. Jennifer says:

    I wonder about this too sometimes. Why do we do it. Some have a more pointed topic base to work on, others like me, just do what ever. As with Facebook, I have ‘met’ many wonderful and caring people, that I class them as friends. And yes I may not have met them in person, but I care if they have a bad day or get sick. And joy on joy if they get pregnant/married (none of my friends so far have done this…)

  2. terry1954 says:

    You know……..i never really thought of it like you wrote it, but it’s true. i want to know people are alright, i want to help and i love having made close friends on here. i have met some and some i am getting ready to meet. people on here do not judge like family, and this is one thing i do not need anymore in my life, judging and critics. here i can be myself, and say what is in my heart. i love so many on here, i feel so honored to have the best friends, and you are definitely one of them. it isn’t so important that we know last names and addresses, it is more important to know each others hearts. bless u for an outstanding blog!!!! big hugs

  3. Your post is so poignant…it’s true…you do get invested in the lives of the folks you follow. So much better than Facebook!

  4. I am a fan of Facebook but often I scroll through and it’s just nothing. Nothing going on. I remind myself there was a time before Facebook. We shared less.
    I’ve made some proper really life friends through blogging, I enjoy reading in depth about peoples lives and experiences. For me blogging is an outlet to share but as much as I want to share – I can explain myself .
    lovely post.

  5. Sartenada says:

    Great thoughts.

    I am not in Facebook. Photographing, blogging once a week, outdoor activities, reading, travelling at homeland and abroad, gardening, the fill my days. Most of all from those things I love reading and outdoor activities.

Leave a Reply

