Wire work

Hi Everyone

Here’s a necklace I made a while ago, which I was really pleased with. I couldn’t get a good photo and intended to try again, but that doesn’t seem to be happening, so here it is anyway.

Image

Since taking the picture I’ve adjusted it slightly. The flowers were mean’t to be random but by fixing the two halves together they sit in a neat row (at a cute angle) so now they sit slightly differently – but you get the idea.

I get lots of lovely comments when I wear this so I might try it again with another colour.

Thanks to my usual – though reluctant – model Bryony. One day she’ll let me photo her face.

This entry was posted in Jewellery, art and crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Wire work

  1. Beautiful necklace.I love the color of the flowers. Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Do visit my blog too littlebookoffashion.wordpress.com

  2. terry1954 says:

    LOve it, that is awesome!!!

  3. That’s lovely! I like the flowers. Are they metal with an enamel finish?

    • e1aine says:

      Hi. Interesting question, I had to go and take a look to be sure. I thought they were a clay or fimo, but they might be resin, I’m not sure. They don’t feel plasticy but may well be plastic!

  4. Amria says:

    looks fit for a princess!

  5. Jennifer says:

    This is gorgeous. I love it just the way it is. 🙂

  6. This is a really great piece! I always have trouble photographing necklaces. I can never get good close-ups.

  7. I am not surprised you get comments when you wear this. It is gorgeous. Different but very wearable. The purple and silver go really well together.

  8. Wow that looks really ornate, was it difficult to make? I love it!

  9. I think that this is a very pretty jewellery necklace and I love the colour of the flowers and the swirly design.

  10. That is amazingly beautiful! It has a vintage yet modern look about it. I would bet you could sell these necklaces easily and for a great sum of money.

    • e1aine says:

      Thank you. I was really pleased with this one. Maybe I’ll have a go at selling them.

      • You should. I have never seen anything out there like that.

      • e1aine says:

        Thanks 🙂

      • You are welcome. You definitely have an artisan style to your jewelry making, but I think this was one of my favorite pieces that you have made. It is unique and I could see it walking down the red carpet anywhere!

      • e1aine says:

        You’ve made my day!

        By the way, I’ve been following you for a long time and I’m embarrassed to admit I don’t know what Spurgeon Faiths Checkbook is. Is it a published book that you take inspiration from. I love the posts anyway.

      • It is a book of devotionals by Charles Spurgeon. When my husband got me a Nook Color for Valentine’s Day last year, one of the first books I downloaded for free was this devotional, which I’ve been reading along with my Bible each day. I’ve been posting the devotionals from that book that have spoke to me in a special way since then. I’m almost done with this devotional, and will go back to writing my own blog posts again. I’m glad they have been enjoying the posts too.

      • e1aine says:

        Thanks. I enjoy the posts,they make me stop to think.

  11. Really stunning, no wonder you are pleased with the results.
    http://www.trulyjewellery.wordpress.com

  12. Genie says:

    I want one! It’s so original and classy.

    • e1aine says:

      ”Thank you, I might start an Etsy shop one day. I keep thinking about it!

      I think I’ll make a few more, see if I can improve on the design.

  13. jeanasmusings says:

    That is gorgeous!! Did you originally wrap the separate pieces of wire together and then add the beads or were the beads used to keep the wire together? It is just stunning! I hope you make more 🙂

    • e1aine says:

      I wrapped the wires, then added beads as they came down the necklace to the wrappings, so both really. Funnily enough I’m half way through making something similar, had to stop as had a phone call to check emails.

      I’m really pleased with this one, but I’ve made a few since and they just don’t have the same impact. Beginners luck I guess. 🙂

      • jeanasmusings says:

        Thanks! It is a very cool concept and the original design is just beautiful 🙂 keep up the gorgeous work!

Leave a Reply

