Row Counter Bracelets (knitting)

‘What are they?’ do I hear you ask?

A friend at work asked me to make her a row counter bracelet and I had no idea what one of these was. After a bit of internet research I found a couple of patterns that seemed very straightforward. Having no idea which would work best I made three different versions which she has tried out in her knitting club. These are the bracelets I made.Knit

I waited a little while to get the ‘votes’ from the knitting club and this is the feedback I got.

The winner. Not the favourite beads but the thread was nice and slippy and a lovely bright colour.

The winner.
Not the favourite beads but the thread was nice and slippy and a lovely bright colour. They wanted the beads on each strand to be a different size like the other two though.

Favourite beads but the ribbon style was less popular.

Favourite beads but the ribbon style was less popular.

Nice, easy to use clasp but the beads were too 'brown'. I know what they mean, and the thread wasn't slippy enough.

Nice, easy to use clasp but the beads were too ‘brown’. I know what they mean, and the thread wasn’t slippy enough.

The idea of these is that every time you knit a row you move a small bead through the loop (or slid away from the rest in the case of the ribbon version). When you knit the tenth row you move the small beads back and move up a large bead through the loop. That way you keep count of your rows. There is a charm at the end to show which end to start.

This was a fun excercise and the winner was popular enough that someone wanted to buy it as a gift for a friend. I gave it to her as a prize for having good enough taste to want it. I don’t know the knitting club members so I hope who ever ended up with it likes it.

I think I’ll make a few more!

 

 

This entry was posted in Fashion and accessories, Jewellery, art and crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Row Counter Bracelets (knitting)

  1. I really like this idea! I use five bar gates to count rows and would never have thought of this updated version of the abacus. I’m sure you’ll get loads of requests now to make more!

  2. I don’t know why I haven’t been getting your posts recently. I had wondered why you had gone all quiet – but that is because I wasn’t getting your posts! Situation rectified now. I LOVE these and think that you should take some into the Sheep Shop in Cambridge. I was talking to Sarah about them only this week. She doesn’t stock any yet but she may be persuaded?

  3. megtraveling says:

    I couldn’t choose a favorite – I like them all!

  4. Christina says:

    Beautiful bracelets! I love the idea of the first one! Where can I find the black loop that the beads go through. I’d like to make one for myself 🙂 Thanks so much for posting!!

    • e1aine says:

      I got a big pack of these from a 99p shop but they come from hardware stores. I can’t think what they are called but will let you know. They are on the shelf with the washers and I think they are for stopping dripping taps. They worked best on the bracelet. Good luck with your version, I’d love to see it.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

