Something a bit different for Spring

I’ve been busy making, making, making, but not jewellery. Nope, I’ve been making flavours for alcohol. My sister in law was waxing lyrical about some raspberry vodka her friend made and I thought ‘I could do that’. I made a small bottle of raspberry for my sister’s birthday (   I’m safe, though I’ve showed all my friends and family my blog, none of them are interested 😦   ) and then got carried away with all the flavours.

I started with  short flavour experiement. I soaked fruit in vodka for a week and then got MHHadfield, Mr Smoothy and Bryony over to help me taste test. Some suprising results, their favourites were pretty consistent but my taste is very different. Hence I had to make more flavours than I anticipated but the upside is some are just for me. Yay!

I can’t wait for them to ‘mature’. Here’s my first batch:

So, so fruity!

So, so fruity!

As you can see I haven’t mastered filling the bottles consistently.

So far I’ve made Raspberry, mixed berry, blueberry, orange and vanilla, apple and cinnamon, blueberry and raspberry and roseberry (I made that last name up, it’s like a mixed fruit turkish delight infusion.

I love the orange, roseberry and apple, but everyone else likes the blueberry and apple better. Bryony hates them all as she doesn’t like vodka – but my next experiment is very exciting. Thanks to someone I met through WordPress (you know who you are – many thanks for my lovely present) I’m going to be making some flavours with ‘proper’ spirit, not the rubbishy stuff you get in the U.K. Don’t worry, as soon as I find it (I think my hubby thinks I’m going to poison myself and has hidden it) I’m going to water it down thoroughly. Currently Hubby and Bryony are off on holiday without myself and the boy. He couldn’t go due to school so we’ve been ‘bonding’. This mostly involves me shouting at him to get a move on as he’s going to be late for school! Anyway, when Hubby gets back he can tell me where he’s hidden my bottle.

So that’s what I’ve been up to. Drinks round mine then!

This entry was posted in Homelife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Something a bit different for Spring

  1. Wow, you’ve taken off with it–bottoms up!!

  2. Make mine the turkish delight one thanks!

  3. Thank you very much for your lovely comment on my blog – I’m looking forward to reading more of yours! Any blog that starts with a post about tasty booze is a winner in my book :p haha xxx

  4. kittencrafts says:

    ooo these look yummy! I have heard whispers of honeycomb flavoured vodka…. have you tired that?

Leave a Reply

