Goldfish pond

I’ve seen a lot of goldfish and koi carp recently, visiting open gardens with the family. They’ve inspired me to make a few fish elements. This one was an experiment using a background of material left over from one of my friend’s projects (the one I made the green leaf set for recently). It has turned out to be one of my favourites. I’m very much into glitter – you may have noticed – but I think the darker background makes this look rather ‘arty’. I love making goldfish too so you might see a few more of these in the future!

I

I

I do like the way that the resin looks like water too.

This entry was posted in Fashion and accessories, Jewellery, art and crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Goldfish pond

  1. Terry says:

    How much does this sell for?

    • e1aine says:

      I should explain that this was just intended as an experiment. I didn’t really even expect it to work very well as I just used a scrap of material and some fish I made ages ago which I found lying around. I think I will make some similar and maybe refine it a little. I would have no idea what to charge for this, or if it would sell. I’ve had a lovely response to it though.

  2. OHHHH ELAINE!!! This is the most incredible piece, and I’d buy this in a heartbeat. Aw you HAVE to make more of these and put them up for sale, because I swear you’d sell as many as you made. (What are the fish made from? They’re fish scales are brilliant!)

    If I could give out prizes for best make, this would win my first prize. Very well done. ~ Cobs. x

    • e1aine says:

      Embarrassingly I can’t remember what they are made from. I found a couple of little fish – probably for a dolls house? – when I was practising making silicone moulds for clay. To see how they came out I made some fish from them ages ago. Some from polymer clay and some from resin and I didn’t think to look before I used them. I can’t claim to have sculpted these. They were just intended as an experiment really.

  3. {sigh} I meant ‘their’ not ‘they’re’ fish scales.

    {double sigh} I can hear my mother now saying: “All that expensive education and this is what we have to show for it!” . . . . . . {fnar fnar} sorry mother.

  4. kittencrafts says:

    This is just stunning! If you’re not selling these yet, you should! Amazing details, well done!

  5. This is your best piece ever as far as I’m concerned. Fantastic!

  6. Love this! Love love love this!

  7. Really beautiful! So glad to see you’re getting some time to work in the shed this summer. Me, I just putter around and have nothing to show for it. 🙂

  8. This is the coolest! I think it’s my favorite too!

  9. They are amazing. They look so real!

Leave a Reply

